Farewell Rookie Blue

image

I have had some time to grieve saying goodbye to an important part of my life, but all my tears inevitably turned to laughter as I remembered moments of the last 6 years. I am a better person because of each person I worked with; everyone brought their A game with whatever skill set they offered. There was no position too small because the heart they offered was great.

We are messy. You know what made Rookie Blue different? That each person was so unique, and we cared enough to fight for the best in each other. The connection you saw on screen began off camera. Many days I didn’t feel that I had what it took. Guess who got me through? My teammates that became much more than that. They challenged me, all of them, through different ways because of their strengths and weaknesses. Let me tell you something, the best gift I have ever been given, is that of a real person. Is it easy? No, sometimes it was excruciating to be sitting across someone I didn’t understand, or agree with. Sometimes I didn’t have the tools to deal with what we presented each other, and that can be humiliating. But we chose to be family. And family can only be close with authenticity.

Many fans ask me what I love about working with each person… I have decided to tell you. I am going to keep this list to the Rookies and my original TO’s, Oliver and Swarek – or this will turn into a novel and I don’t have a book deal.

Greg Smith:
Greg is very much himself and also a mystery; he belongs to himself which is inspiring. He is one of the most non judgmental people I have ever met, and when I sit around a table with his friends I have to laugh because no one is alike. He is as professional as they come, which tempted me to always go the other way. He is inclusive and always sees the best in people.

Enuka Okuma:
Enuka knows what she wants, and has taught me that it is okay to really go after it. Sometimes we can make ourselves small to “fit in” and it is such a disservice to everyone including ourselves. She makes things happen; she is a pioneer. She is not in your face about it, she works hard, quietly, and let’s her work speak for itself. I admire her so much for this.
Charlotte Sullivan:
Gracious. I have never met a woman who can be fierce and yet just as gentle. She has a very humble spirit and truly carries herself well. She is weird and playful but when you get down to it, all heart. She has walked with me in some of my toughest moments, and I never felt shame, only ever acceptance.

Peter Mooney:
This man will call you on your crap. Haha!
He can do that because he knows who he is, so it is delivered with a great deal of thought and kindness. He is genuinely interested in those he interacts with and he taught me that it’s okay to stand out and be who I am.

Matt Gordon:
He is a champion. The best kind. I can’t tell you how many times I would be down on myself and he would quickly correct my thinking to remind me who he sees. He is truly my Oliver Shaw, and I have been able to have the strength to climb out of some pretty dark places because his hand was always waiting to pull me out. Sometimes, he would just climb in with me, and we would climb out together when I was ready. He is at the top because he champions everyone else to get there.

Travis Milne:
Travis will always make you feel welcome and comfortable, his strength is to connect on some level and HE’LL FIND IT. He taught me that it’s okay not to take everything so seriously, that keeping it light is healthy too. He is always down to have fun and his optimism is contagious.

Priscilla Faia:
Full. This woman explodes with personality and is as loyal as they come. Her ability to see the future as exciting and grab every opportunity is… The complete opposite of me. Haha. But she has taught me to see things her way, and it has only brightened my life. She is a caretaker and provider, and making others feel at home is her gift. So when you’re around her, you’re home.

Ben bass:
Ben might be my greatest opposite to a certain degree, and for that I’m thankful. We both share the wonderful disease of perfectionism but he has created some of the finest moments from his. The details. Ben has an incredible ability to see the smallest details and it all matters. He is attentive, thoughtful and passionate. He has taught me that even if we have a different point of view, or process, we can still connect and grow. How powerful! His light brought some of my weaknesses in view, and his very person, his unique ways, forced me to step up and be a better version of myself. Acting is not performing, it’s relating.

I will tell you, without the leadership of Tassie Cameron, Ilana Frank, David Wellington, and the dedication of every talented writer this would not have happened. They brought their full selves to this project, and we were given the room to fail, fight and learn. There is no perfect way, it doesn’t exist. What does, is the journey that NEVER takes a straight line, and with each person that we encounter, an opportunity to learn and grow. My experience on Rookie has helped mold me into who I am today.

Thank you to the fans for your commitment and loyalty. Your heartfelt love and sometimes rage (haha!) for our show is what kept us moving and provided the opportunity for us to work together for so long. Without you, there is no “us”. I LOVED playing McNally, believe me when I say we shared the same heart.

Thank you to Shaw, Global, eOne and ABC for your belief in our cast and crew and investment for many years. What a gift.

I will always look back on the last six years with a warm heart and a huge smile. It was a win through and through.

Cheers,
Miss

56 thoughts on “Farewell Rookie Blue

  1. Dear Missy. This is sent to you all the way from Africa . I have LOVED RB like no other show. I have NEVER been this invested in a TV show but because of the way you poured yourself into Andy McNally you brought her to life for me. I find myself thinking sometimes about WWAD meaning What Would Andy Do. This was how real you made her! So thank you for 6 incredible years and for the beautiful way you described each person. I will stay invested in watching where life takes you next. I am very sad that RB has ended and that we will never see those McSwarek babies that Sam was dreaming about 😢
    Anyway good luck for the future

    Like

  2. Hi Missy, what a lovely way to say goodbye. I was sorry to hear that RB wasn’t coming back for another season. I feel as though the story wasn’t quite finished. I feel silly saying that about a TV show, but I so looked forward to watching each week from the comfort of my Sydney, now Melbourne, home. I recall I’d only been in Melbourne a week when the next season was just about to begin, and I watched the first episode using my sister’s pitiful WiFi. The show helped a new place feel more like home. Familiarity is sometimes all it takes. That was just under for years ago now, and it’s been a bumpy ride. So thank you for being one of many who contributed to a great show, and for providing a welcome escape from the day to day. I wish you all the best in the future, you deserve it 🙂

    Nikki

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Missy,
    I am writing to you from Poland. When I was reading your farewell I cried. Really I cried and I still cry. RB taught me how to be strong and brave and how to love other people. In my room on the wall I wrote so many quotes that make me feel so much better. I am so sorry that this show was canceled. While I was watching new episodes I thought that being a police officer this is what I was born for. During these 6 seasons I learnt so many things about police. Missy, you are my authority. I wish to be like you in the future and I really want to go to America and meet you in person. Even when you are famous person, you don’t show it, you are just yourself it’s what makes you who you are. You are great, christian person. Please, never change. I wish you all the best in the future.
    Love, Martha

    Like

  4. Dear Missy,
    I am writing to you from Poland. When I was reading your farewell I cried. Really I cried and I still cry. RB taught me how to be strong and brave and how to love other people. In my room on the wall I wrote so many quotes that make me feel so much better. I am so sorry that this show was canceled. While I was watching new episodes I thought that being a police officer this is what I was born for. During these 6 seasons I learnt so many things about police. Missy, you are my authority. I wish to be like you in the future and I really want to go to America and meet you in person. Even when you are famous person, you don’t show it, you are just yourself it’s what makes you who you are. You are great, christian person. Please, never change. I wish you all the best in the future.
    Love, Martha

    Like

  5. Hey Missy,
    Rookie Blue was one of the most amazing, real shows i have ever watched. I can’t even describe the way i feel when watching the show. It feels as if I’m watching real life stories happening in the sidelines. The way that you, Ben, Priscilla, Peter and all the characters devoted your time to the show and to taking on the character is amazing, and it is a very tough job. I can’t imagine how hard it was to take the role of such amazing characters with different personalities while bring a police officer. I really do appreciate the 6 years of excitement you have given me while watching the show, and i wish you all the best in your future projects which i hope to see more of.

    Like

  6. Very, very moving post! My daughter, age 11, and I love your show and cast! We will miss you, this summer won’t be the same… Be Well and Be Happy! Much love, Ronda and Liv

    Like

Leave a Reply

